Thu, June 30, 2022


Phang Nga declares five districts flood disaster zones

The Phang Nga provincial administration Monday declared five flooded districts as disaster zones to speed up assistance to affected residents, the provincial governor said.

Phang Nga governor Siripat Pattanakul said Kapong, Thay Muang, Takua Pa, Muang and Takua Thung districts had been declared disaster zones following recent flooding that affected 1,700 people from 442 families.
Siripat was speaking to reporters while he and his wife, Rattiya Pattanakul who chairs the Phang Nga Red Cross Society, visited residents of the five districts Monday morning.

Phang Nga declares five districts flood disaster zones
Siripat said the provincial administration was working with local administrations and the provincial Red Cross office to rush help including food, drinking water and necessities to the affected people.
The authorities would install pumps to drain the floodwaters, which should subside soon if there is no more rain, the governor added.

Published : June 24, 2019

By : The Nation