The Nationthailand

Add to Home Screen.

MONDAY, December 05, 2022
Cabinet approves 12 members of national strategy committee

Cabinet approves 12 members of national strategy committee

TUESDAY, August 29, 2017

The Cabinet on Tuesday approved the names of 12 people to sit on the national strategy committee.

The panel, which will be in overall charge of writing the national strategy, comprises mostly key figures in the current government, ex-members of reform bodies, as well as representatives from the country’s major financial groups.
The move follows the promulgation of the national strategy law last month, which requires the establishment of the national strategy committee within 30 days.
According to the law, the committee should be made up of up to 34 members, including the chair and vice chairs, with half of the panel comprising ex-officio members and the other half being experts from diverse fields.
The 12 persons approved by the Cabinet include Deputy Prime Minister Wissanu Krea-ngam, Interior Minister General Anupong Paochinda, Deputy Premier Somkid Jatusripitak, Deputy PM Air Chief Marshal Prajin Juntong, Industry Minister Uttama Savanayana, PM’s Office Minister Suvit Maesincee, former chairman of the now-defunct National Reform Council Theinchay Kiranandana, and former Social Development and Human Security minister Poldet Pinprateep.
The other members appointed on Tuesday are former secretary-general of the UN Conference on Trade and Development Supachai Panitchpakdi, Bangkok Bank president and director Chartsiri Sophonpanich, Kasikornbank chairman Banthoon Lamsam, and AIS (Advanced Info Service) chairman Kan Trakulhoon.
Deputy Prime Minister Gen Prawit Wongsuwan, meanwhile, will take the seat of vice chair, while Prime Minister Gen Prayut Chan-o-cha will chair the committee.