The other nine affected

national May 08, 2014 00:00


2,718 Viewed

The Constitutional Court ruled that Yingluck Shinawatra and Cabinet members who approved Thawil Pliensri's transfer must step down

Caretaker deputy PM and foreign minister Surapong Tovichakchaikul

As then-deputy prime minister

A former Democrat Party MP for Chiang Mai and candidate in two general elections, Surapong switched to join the Thaksin-led camp after the 2006 military coup and became a member of two now-disbanded parties. He is now a party-list MP of Pheu Thai and a deputy party leader. Surapong, 61, remains a member of the Pheu Thai-led government’s anti-protest operation Centre for Administration of Peace and Order (CAPO), despite his being ousted from the Cabinet.

Caretaker deputy PM and finance minister Kittiratt Na-Ranong

As then-deputy prime minister

Serving previously as commerce minister and concurrently as a deputy PM from July 2011 to January 2012, Kittiratt, 55, was also made deputy Pheu Thai leader in October 2012. He is known for his "White Lies" statements, which led to a no-confidence debate about Yingluck Shinawatra.

Caretaker deputy PM Plodprasop Suraswadi

As then-science minister

A flamboyant figure, Plodprasop, 69, was a civil servant in the fishery and forestry departments. He held political positions as deputy minister at several ministries, before joining Pheu Thai Party and being made science minister in July 2011. He was given responsibility as general manager of the overall water and flood-prevention operations, and was appointed a deputy PM in October 2012.

Caretaker PM’s Office minister

Santi Prompat

As then-social development and human security minister

A property developer, Santi, 62, entered politics in 1995, joining the New Aspiration Party and being elected a Phetchabun MP twice. He later joined the Thai Rak Thai in 2005, and became transport minister in 2007 under the People Power Party banner. He held the portfolio of social development and human security in Yingluck government.


Caretaker Deputy PM

Pracha Promnog

A career policeman and former National Police chief, Pracha entered politics after retiring as appointed senator in 1997, and was later a party-list MP for Chat Pattana Party. He then switched to the Pheu Pandin Party, which he left in 2011 to join Pheu Thai and was made finance minister.

Caretaker labour minister Chalerm Yoobamrung

As then-deputy prime minister

A veteran politician and former leader of the now-defunct Muan Chon party, Chalerm is known for his hardline stance and harsh words against opponents. He joined the now-defunct People Power Party, which was associated with Thaksin Shinwatra, after the September 19, 2006 coup. He held several important Cabinet posts during his tenure associated with Thaksin.

Caretaker information and communications technology minister Anudith Nakornthap

A fighter pilot by career, he entered politics in 2005 as secretary to defence minister, and to then-agriculture minister Sudarat Keyuraphan in 2005-2006. He was later elected a Bangkok MP under Pheu Thai in 2011, since which time he had been ICT minister.

Deputy defence minister

YutHasak Sasiprapha

Yuthasak was a Defence Ministry permanent secretary in 1998, and later joined Thai Rak Thai, for whom he was made defence minister in 2011, and concurrently a deputy PM the next year. He was made deputy to Yingluck at Defence Ministry.

Deputy agriculture minister

Siriwat Kachornprasart

As then-deputy commerce minister

Son of late Chart Thai Pattana Party chief adviser Sanan Kachornprasart, Siriwat was first elected as Democrat MP for Phichit at the age of 28 in 2001, before he switched to Mahachon Party, for whom he was not elected as MP. He later joined Chat Thai Party, and then Chat Thai Pattana after Chat Thai was disbanded. He was deputy commerce minister in 2011, then became deputy agriculture minister the next year.