Senate can convene as all senators endorsed

national April 30, 2014 00:00

By The Nation

The Election Commission (EC) endorsed the 15 remaining senators-elect, including Bangkok Senator Jaruvan Maintaka, yesterday in order to keep within the 30-day deadline.

The endorsement of the 15 senators gives the Senate a quorum of more than 95 per cent, thus allowing it to convene. 
The endorsement came a day after the caretaker Cabinet approved a Royal Decree to open an extraordinary session of the Senate from Friday to May 10.
The MPs and Senators Electoral Act requires the EC to endorse election winners within 30 days of the election date, if it does not decide to annul the results or disqualify winning candidates. 
The Act also allows the EC to further investigate and ask the Supreme Court’s Election Division to disqualify the endorsed MPs or senators within a year of the election date.
On Monday, EC secretary-general Puchong Nutrawong said there were 74 complaints against the election winners in 15 provinces, but since the commission could not finish deliberating the complaints with in the 30-day deadline, it decided to endorse the 15 senators first. 
List of newly endorsed senators
Apart from Jaruvan, the newly-endorsed senators are Chaiyaphum’s Banthoon Kiart-kongchuchai, Nakhon Nayok’s Marut Rojanapiyawong, Phetcha-bun’s Pipatchai Phakratchatanon, Phrae’s Bulun Ratkhamphan, Mae Hong Son’s Surapol Santichotenan, Ranong’s Sakda Sriwiriyapaibool, Lop Buri’s Prathuan Sutthiamnuaydet, Lampang’s Warawut Norkhoam, Lamphun’s Tri Danpaibul, Si Sa Ket’s Wilda Inchat, Surat Thani’s Sujin Chaemchoy, Nong Bua Lamphu’s Prapas Nuansamlee, Amnat Charoen’s Yaninat Khemnak and Ubon Ratchathani’s Somchai Laosai.

Most view