EC endorses 15 remaining senators-elect

national April 29, 2014 00:00

By The Nation

3,419 Viewed

The Election Commission on Tuesday endorsed the 15 remaining senators-elect as required by the 30-day deadline.

One of the 15 newly endorsed senators is Bangkok Senator Jaruwan Mainthaka.
The latest endorsements gives the Senate more than 90 per cent of its members, allowing it to convene meetings.
The endorsement came a day after the Cabinet approved a royal decree to open an extraordinary session of the Senate from Friday to May 10.
The MPs and Senators Electoral Act requires the EC to endorse election winners within 30 days of the election date if the EC does not decide to annul the results or disqualify the winning candidates. The act also allows the EC to further investigate and ask the Supreme Court’s Election Division to disqualify the endorsed MPs or senators within a year of the election date.
On Monday, EC secretary general Puchong Nutrawong said there were 74 complaints against the top-vote earners in 15 provinces and the EC could not finish deliberating the complaints in time for the 30-day deadline so it had endorse the 15 senators-elect first.
Apart from Jaruwan, the newly-endorsed senators are Chaiyaphum’s winner Banthoon Kiartkongchuchai, Nakhon Nayok’s Marut Rojanapiyawong, Phetchabun’s Pipatchai Phakratchatanon, Phare’s Bulun Ratkhamphan, Mae Hong Son’s Surapol Santichotenan, Ranong’s Sakda Sriwiriyapaibool, Lopburi’s Prathuan Sutthiamnuaydet, Lampang’s Warawut Norkhoam, Lamphun’s Tri Danpaibul, Si Sa Ket’s Wilda Inchat, Surat Thani’s Sujin Chaemchoy, Nong Bua Lamphu’s Prapas Nuansamlee, Amnat Charoen’s Yaninat Khemnak, and Ubon Ratchathani’s Somchai Laosai.

Most view