CMPO bans entry to 12 areas under emergency

national January 25, 2014 00:00

By The Nation

2,553 Viewed

National police chief Pol General Adul Saengsingkaew, in his capacity as operating director for the Centre for Maintaining Peace and Order (CMPO), issued an order yesterday banning entry to 12 areas, as well as those housing government offices.

The ban follows a statement from CMPO on Thursday saying that under the state of emergency, entry to certain areas would be restricted and access to government buildings and offices would be banned, including those areas already occupied by protesters. 
Traffic, parking, public gatherings and all relevant activities are banned on 26 roads and 12 sites, 
as well as all state-owned properties, said the police commissioner, who is also CMPO director of operations. 
All restrictions are imposed for a two-month period beginning from Thursday when the emergency decree took affect in Bangkok and neighbouring provinces. Permission to enter certain areas will be given on a case-by-case basis, he said.
In a second statement, the CMPO also banned the carrying of firearms, or any other kind of weapon, by members of the general public. The ban includes explosives, Tasers, slingshots, ball bearings and any other kind of ammunition.
Vehicles carrying explosives, fireworks, weapons, or material used to set up blockades are also banned from entering 38 locations, including state-owned property, the statement said. Vehicles are also banned from being used in any way that would cause a disturbance to the public, including the use of sound amplifiers at rally sites.
In addition, tankers carrying fuel, chemicals or hazardous materials are banned from entering the same 38 locations and state-owned property. Custodians or owners of flammable or hazardous goods are also required to use proper safety measures.

Most view