File Photo
File Photo

Decree details agencies that work directly under His Majesty the King

Breaking News May 12, 2017 16:07

By The Nation

8,555 Viewed

A NEW royal decree outlines the organisation and personnel administration of agencies that work directly under His Majesty the King.

According to the Royal Decree on the Organisation and Personnel Administration of Agencies under the King, published in the Royal Gazette on May 10, there are three main agencies involved – the Privy Council, Royal Household Bureau, and Royal Security Command.

Under this new law, privy councillors and civilian, military and police officers working in those agencies are considered officials under the King’s custody. They are not regarded as civil servants or state officials, although they retain the status of “competent officers” under the Penal Code.

According to the royal decree, the King may give military or police ranks to and remove those ranks from any of the officials under his custody at his pleasure.

Also, the legislation allows His Majesty to appoint, promote, transfer, demote and remove officials under the King’s custody at his pleasure. He may transfer officials working under him to other agencies and vice versa.

Privy councillors are an exception, as their appointment and removal needs to be in line with the Constitution.

The announcement said the royal decree was required under Article 15 of the 2017 Constitution, which has been in effect since April 6. The clause in question states that the appointment and removal of officials working under His Majesty shall be at the King’s pleasure, and the organisation and personnel administration of their agencies shall be at the King’s pleasure, as provided by the relevant royal decree.

Last Tuesday, the 2017 Act of Regulations on the Administration of His Majesty’s Personal Affairs was promulgated. It details the transfers of five state agencies overseeing royal affairs and security to work directly under HM King Maha Vajiralongkorn. 

They are the Office of His Majesty’s Principal Private Secretary, the Royal Household Bureau, Royal Aide-de-Camp Department, Royal Security Command and Royal Court Police. Previously, those agencies were under control of the government, military and police.

Most view