17 Ubon districts inundated, declared disaster zones

national August 02, 2014 01:00

By The Nation

2,465 Viewed

In the face of raging floods, Ubon Ratchathani Governor Serm Chainarong has declared 17 districts in his province as disaster-hit zones.

The districts are Khemarat, Trakan Phuet Phon, Don Mot Daeng, Tan Sum, Lao Suea Kok, Mueang Ubon Ratchathani, Warin Chamrap, Samrong, Na Yia, Sawang Wirawong, Phibun Mangsahan, Sirindhorn, Thung Si Udom, Det Udom, Nam Yuen, Na Chaluai and Khong Chiam.
“Floods have now affected more than 20,000 families,” Serm said. 
He said the hardest hit were in Phibun Mangsahan and Trakan Phuet Phon. 
“Relevant government agencies and charity organisations are now extending help to the affected,” he said. 
With floodwater spreading and several roads becoming impassable, many local children have stopped going to school. 
Some locals have also been seen trying to catch fish in the floodwater to cope with limited food during the flooding. 

Most view