The critics have their say

movie & TV March 30, 2013 00:00

By Parinyaporn Pajee
The Nation

3,037 Viewed

Indie movie 'P-047' sweeps the slate at the Bangkok Critics Assembly awards


A film that failed to get even one nomination for the recent Subhanahongsa awards, “Tae Piang Phu Deaw” (“P-047”) went home with five of the 12 prizes from the Bangkok Critics Assembly on Wednesday night, including Best Director and Best Screenplay for Kongdej Jaturanrasmee.
The three-segment drama “Home Khwam Rak Khwam Sook Khwam Songjam” (“Home”) picked up the main Best Picture award and one of its stars, Penpak Sirikul, was finally rewarded with the Best Actress prize for her portrayal of a widow unable to come to terms with grief. The actress was also nominated for her depiction of a middle-aged transvestite in “Mai Dai Kor Hai Ma Rak” (“It Gets Better”). 
“As actors, we often say that winning a critics award is proof that our work has passed muster so I’m so glad to receive this award. My thanks go to [director] Chookiat Sakveerakul who remembered that I am from Chiang Mai and so cast me in the role,” said the actress, who had no problem speaking the northern dialect in the film despite having left home decades earlier.
But it was Kongdej’s night, as P-047 picked up award after award and he went on to score Best Original Song for his track ‘Fang Si Fang Si Fang” from “Echo Planet”. Kongdej was unable to make the ceremony as he is currently at the Hong Kong International Film Festival with his latest film “Tang Wong”, which also screened at last month’s Berlin International Film Festival.
Kongdej thanked the critics on his Facebook page.
“I love these awards! I’ve been following the awards announcement for 20 years, ever since I was a student. I’m also glad to win Best Original Song.”
In a repeat of 2010, when Cherman Boonyasak and Neungtida “Noonaa” Sophon were both recognised as Best Actress for “Chua Fah Din Salai” (“Eternity”) and “Gaun Muen Ho” (“Hello Stranger”), the Best Actor award went to two winners: David Asavanond for “Countdown”, for which he was also recognised with a Subhanahongsa award, and Apichai Tragoolpadetkrai for “P-047”.
“Nothing is better than being given a chance. My thanks to Kongdej for giving me a chance to be an actor,” said Apichai, who is also a photographer and singer.
Apichai was also nominated in the Best Original Song category for “Prayok Bok Lao”, a soundtrack of the movie “Shambhala”.
This year’s lifetime achievement award went to Chalong Pakdeewijit and the Young Filmmaker Award to Nawapol Thamrongrattanarit, who directed last year’s independent hit “36”.
Respected film critic Kittisak Suwanaphokin commented that 2012 had been a brilliant year for non-mainstream movies.
“I was so glad when I saw the nominees for Best Picture as we had both mainstream and non-main stream film. Non-mainstream movies can now stand by themselves, they distribute and even release DVD independently without clinging to the studio system,” he said.
And the winners are ….
Best Picture: “Home Khwam Rak Khwam Sook Khwam Songjam” (“Home”), Sahamongkol Film International
Best Director: Kongdej Jaturanrasamee ,“Tae Piang Phu Deaw” (“P-047”)
Best Actor: David Asavanond, “Countdown”and Apichai Tragoolpadetgrai’ “P-047”.
Best Actress: Penpak Sirikul, “Home”
Best Supporting Actor: Parama Imanothai, “ Mai Dai Kor Hai Ma Rak” (“It Gets Better”)
Best Supporting Actress: Piyathida Worramusik, “Together Wan Tee Rak” (“Together”)  
Best Screenplay: Kongdej Jaturanrasamee, “P-047”
Best Cinematography: MR Umpornpol Yugala, “P-047”
Best Film Editing: Manussa Vorasingha and Kamontorn Eakwattanakij, “P-047” 
Best Original Song: “Fang Si Fang Si Fang”, Kongdej Jaturanrasamee, “Echo Planet”.
Best Original Score: Chatchai Pongprapapan, “Echo Planet”
Best Art Direction: Achira Nokthet and Narongsak Pawapootanon, “It Gets Better”
Lifetime Achievement award: Chalong Pakdeewijit  
Young Filmmaker Award: Nawapol Thamrongrattanarit, “36”.
Top Grossing Film Award: “ATM Er Rak Error” (“ATM”).