The Nation



Thai designer , awarded the world's biggest international fashion prize

Wisharawish Akarasantisook (R)

Wisharawish Akarasantisook (R)

The fourth edition of the MANGO Fashion Awards reaches its conclusion on May 30,2012 with the announcement of Wisharawish Akarasantisook as the winner of the competition.

. Isak Andic, the Chairman of Mango and Chairman of the Jury, along with the other members of the jury, announced the winner of the fourth edition of the Mango Fashion Awards at the press conference held this morning at the Majestic hotel.

Wisharawish Akarasantisook, the winner of this fourth edition, who lived in Paris for 4 years, explained: "It is an excellent opportunity being able to collaborate with Mango. I saw the third edition on the news and decided to enter". As for the inspiration of the collection, the young designer commented: "Owing to the death of my father, I returned to Thailand, so I was inspired by the Buddhist temples, analysing the relationship between life and death and nature. It is a collection with plenty of detail and handmade pieces".

Isak Andic, Chairman of Mango and of the Jury in this edition, commented: "All the finalists are fantastic. These prizes are for young designers and are a platform for young talent".

The jury of this fourth edition will be made up of various celebrities from the fashion world, including Isak Andic, as Chairman of the company and Chairman of the Jury, the British model Kate Moss, the photographers Claudia Knoepfel and Stefan Indlekofer, Jaime de Marichalar, Colleen Sherin, the fashion manager of Saks Fifth Avenue, Derek Blasberg, editor of Harper’s Bazaar, V Magazine and VMAN, the Spanish model and entrepreneur Laura Ponte, Géraldine Saglio, the stylist of Vogue Paris, the young designer Lena Lumelski, winner of the last edition of the MANGO Fashion Awards and Frans Bonet, Image Director of MANGO.

The finalists competing for the 300,000€ prize, which has been awarded to the Thai designer Wisharawish Akarasantisook, included the Spanish duo Spastor, the French designer Christine Phung, the Japanese designers Takayuki Tanaka and Motoyuki Matsumoto, the South Korean Haesung Bong, Harvey Bouterse, a Belgian designer, Tuomas Laitinen, of Finnish origin, the German-Swedish duo made up of Stefanie Malgreen de Oliveira and Richard Lindqvist, the Dane Mads Dinesen and the Japanese designer Takashi Nishiyama. The 10 finalists of this fourth edition exhibited their collections in the 20 perspex cubicles located in Barcelona's emblematic Paseo de Gracia, from 23 May until 1 June.


The MANGO Fashion Awards were created in 2007 in order to promote the international projection of talented young fashion designers. The finalists are competing for a prize of 300,000 euros, the largest sum awarded to date in an event of this kind.

The event is jointly organised by the five most prestigious design schools in Europe, namely Central St. Martins School of Art and Design, in London, Institut Français de la Mode, in Paris, Istituto Marangoni, in Milan, Royal Academy of Fine Arts, in Antwerp and Escola Superior de Disseny, in Barcelona.

Comments conditions

Users are solely responsible for their comments.We reserve the right to remove any comment and revoke posting rights for any reason withou prior notice.