Re: ”Tempting God’s wrath with a meagre beet”, Have Your Say, June 29.
Ye Olde Theologian wonders what kind of Jews would substitute a beet for a lamb at Passover. Given that there are 200,000 vegans in Israel, I’d say probably quite a few. In addition, last September, more than 70 rabbis from around the world signed a declaration urging Jews to choose veganism. They said it was a contradiction to the claim that products made “through a process that involves inordinate cruelty and barbarity toward animal life can truly be considered kosher in our world”.
Rabbi David Rosen, former Chief Rabbi of Ireland, stated, “If you really want to be true to both the letter of the law and the spirit of the law of what Kashrut is all about, you should eat a plant-based diet.”
Religious scholar Asa Keisar says, “There is no kosher meat at all … The Torah, the Bible, do not want people to eat meat ... we have maybe a thousand rules about meat in Judaism.”
He says Jewish law provides such detailed instructions with regard to how animals should be kept and slaughtered – down to the precise motion of the knife – that keeping these rules is impossible. The only option, therefore, is veganism.