Greasy Cafe
Greasy Cafe

Tis the Season

music April 18, 2018 14:47

By Kitchana Lersakvanitchakul
The Nation

2,894 Viewed

Season Awards, the most respected awards in the music business, recently announced the nominations for its 29th edition.

The event, which contributed to the introduction of “Best of” in the music industry, is, as always, being run by Thiwa Sarajutha, the long-time editor of Season Magazine.

Smallroom’s Greasy Cafe and The Richman Toy have swept the nominations, each winning nods in four categories. Greasy Cafe is nominated for Best Male Artist while his two songs, “Pa Tid Pa Tor” and “9” from his latest album “Technicolor”, are up for Best Song, Best Recordings as well as Best Album. The country-rock band, meanwhile, is nominated for Best Duo or Group and the songs, “Rak Doo” and “Bin Thalalom” from “Tawan Lia Tood”, for Best Song, Best Recordings as well as Best Album.

The Richman Toy

Eight artists and bands could also win recognition, namely: Hugo, Pae Arak and The Pisat Band, Over Me, Slot Machine, Big Ass, Lomosonic, West of East, and Zero Hero. Rockers Big Ass, currently celebrating 20 years of success, could pull a triple, just as it did in the “Guitar Mag Awards 2018” last month. 

Nominees for Best Instrumental this year are interesting. “Hope the Flowers” is Narongrit Ittipolnavakul’s solo project with instrumental songs in his post-punk style. He used music therapy to relieve his depression, and while his compositions are melancholy, they also convey hope. “Loneliness” is one of six nominees for Best Instrumental.

PC 0832/676 and Roxy, two bands from Chiang Mai, are also nominated for Best Instrumental. PC 0832/676 is an instrumental band playing a melting pot of post rock, math rock and jazz music, and gets the nod for “La Vitesse” and “Departed”, while Roxy, another instrumental outfit that focuses on alternative rock and fusion, is nominated for “Water 7” and “Handsome Jack.”

The award presentation ceremony takes place Grand Ballroom of Swissotel Le Concorde Bangkok tonight (April 18) at 6.

The nominees in the 11 categories of the 29th Season Awards are:

Natthawut “Max” Jenmana

Best Male Artist

Natthawut “Max” Jenmana, “Let There Be Light”

Tosaporn “Sin” Achawanuntakul, “Homepop”

Greasy Cafe, “Technicolor”

Hugo, “Dam Sanit”

Naake Thanapakkunladej, “Past Tense”

Rasmee Wayrana

Best Female Artist

Rasmee Wayrana, “Arom”

Nanthida Kaewbuasai, “17”

Mueanfun Manoonphol, “Mueanfun”

Ornaree Chularatana, “Un Jour”

Best Duo or Group

The Richman Toy, “Tawan Lia Tood”

Monomania, “Before the Dawn”

Pae Arak and The Pisat Band, “Wood and Steel”

Jetset’er, “Magic Moment”

Over Me, “Anatomy”

Slot Machine, “Spin the World”

Best Rock Group

Big Ass, “The Lion”

Lomosonic, “Anti-Gravity”

West of East, “Western Music on Eastern Player”

Zero Hero, “Hua Khamoy”

Adrenaline, “Psychopaths”

Best New Artist

West of East, “Western Music on Eastern Player”

Jelly Rocket, “Lucid Dream”

Bomb at Track, “Bomb at Track”

Tilly Birds, “Tilly Birds”

Coconut Sunday, “When the Night Seems So Long..”

Beatboyz Bangkok, “Beatboyz Bangkok”

Best Album

“Spin the World”, Slot Machine

“Dam Sanit”, Hugo

“Tawan Lia Tood”, The Richman Toy

“Technicolor”, Greasy Cafe

“Before the Dawn”, Monomania

Best Rock Album

“The Lion”, Big Ass

“Anti-Gravity”, Lomosonic

“Western Music on Eastern Player”, West of East

“Hua Khamoy”, Zero Hero

“Psychopaths”, Adrenaline

Best Song

“Dam Sanit”, Hugo

“Roi”, Pae Arak and The Pisat Band

“Sing Diew”, Over Me

“Rak Doo”, The Richman Toy

“Pa Tid Pa Tor”, Greasy Cafe

“Wan Nueng Chan Dern Khao Pa”, Natthawut “Max” Jenmana

Best Recordings

“Bin Thalalom”, The Richman Toy

“9”, Greasy Cafe

“Chan Oak Pai Ten Kap Pleng Thi Mai Khid Ja Fang”, Pae Arak and The Pisat Band

“Manut Muang”, Beatboyz Bangkok

“Sak Wan”, Natapol Srichomkwan

“Dek Phuying”, Rasmee Wayrana

Best Rock Song

“Jaruad”, Slot Machine

“Mai Kheed Fai”, Big Ass

“Sep Som Lom Hai Jai”, West of East

“Kaen Rak Asornrapit”, Lomosonic

“Na Sao Thong”, Zero Hero

“Yuenyan”, Over Me

Best Instrumental

“Loneliness”, Hope the Flowers

“La Vitesse”, PC 0832/676 

“Departed”, PC 0832/676

“Running on Faith”, Naake Thanapakkunladej

“Water 7”, Foxy

“Handsome Jack”, Foxy