Music rewards its best

music March 10, 2018 01:00


3,039 Viewed

The nominations are in for The Guitar Mag awards

An event that bills itself as giving “Real Awards to Real Artists”, the 2018 edition of the Guitar Mag Awards 2018 return on Monday night to Ongbak Hall on the sixth floor of Show DC.

The ceremony, which kicks off at 6pm, marks the 16th year anniversary of the music magazine and has as its theme “Music Digital 4.0” – “dontri mankong silapin mangkang wongkarn yangyuen”, which loosely translates as “stable music, wealthy artists and a sustainable music circle”.


The awards consist of 14 categories including Most Admired Artist Award for Athiwara “Toon” Kongmalai, the frontman of rock band Bodyslam, and Lifetime Achievement Award for Thaneth Warakulnukroh.

“We’ve added the ‘Most Admired Artist Award; to recognise Toon Bodyslam who is not only the pride in Thailand’s music circle but also works hard to benefit society. He’s an inspiration to everyone,” says a member of the organising team.

“Piyawan Wongsawang, the chief executive of The Guitar Mag, will personally present Toon’s award.”


Slot Machine, The Toys, The Rube, Klear, and BNK48 will entertain the audience between announcements while outside the hall, the magazine will host shows by Bao Young Blood, the Hot Wave Music Awards, and the Imperial Music Contest. To be part of the award ceremony, bring along the February or March edition of The Guitar Mag and you’ll be given a free ticket. For more information, visit or join the conversation at Facebook: The Guitar Mag.

The nominations for The Guitar Mag Award 2018 are:



The Guitar Man of the Year

Thanat Meatanayanon of Instinct for “Chart Na Mee Jing”

Theerawong Watanajarupong of The Rube for “Mai Chai Phra Ek”

Nathapong Lertsrinual of Helmet Head for “Kotra Cool”

Teekatat Tawiarayakul of Potato for “Thuk Dan Thuk Moom”

Apichat Phromraksa of Big Ass for “Cherd Singto”

Best Producer

Poonsak Jaturabul, “Fah Pen Jai” by 25 Hours 

Suwatchai Suthirat, “Muea Wan” by Pramote Pathan

Thanwa Boonsongnern, “Korn Rudoo Fon” by the Toys 

Suthee Saengsereechon,“Korn Rudoo Fon” by the Toys

Bodin Charoenrat, “Mai Chai Phra Ek” by the Rube


Best Song Writer

Tawan Chawalitthamrong, “Jeb Jon Mai Khao Jai”

Rat Pikhatpairee and Rangsan Panyajai, “Lub Luek”

Patiwet Uthaichalern, “Non Jub Mue Kan Khrang Raek”

Bodin Charoenrat, “Mai Chai Phra Ek”

Olarn Choojai, “Rak Tua Ang”

New Wave

Max Jenmana

The Toys


The Kastle




Best Style


Arak and The Pisaj Band


25 Hours


Best Choice

The Rube







Best Male Artist 

Palitchoke Ayanaputra

Chanakan Ratanaudom

Nopasin Sangsuwan

Jirakorn Sompitak

Tachaya Pratumwan

Best Female Artist 

Waruntorn Paonill

Eve Pancharoen aka Palmy

Kanyarat Tiyapornchai

Wichayanee Pearklin

Thanida Thamwimol

Best Band 

Slot Machine

Big Ass




Best Album 

“Now”, Thaitanium

“Cyantist”, Chanakan Ratanaudom

“Dam Sanit”, Hugo

“The Lion”, Big Ass

“Restart”, Room39



Single Hit

“Phan Muen Hetphol”, Klear

“Fortune Cookie”, BNK48

“Korn Rudoo Fon”, The Toys

“Khon La Chan”, Jaonaay

“Pen Thuk Yang”, Room39