• Bollywood Diva Kriti Sanon wins at Myntra Style Icon Award at IIFA
  • Acclaimed Bollywood Actor Nawazuddin Siddiqui wins Best Supporting Role (Male) at NEXA IIFA Awards
  • IIFA paved tribute to the legendary actor Shashi Kapoor
  • India’s most loved actress and timeless beauty Rekha put on a nostalgic performance at NEXA Awards Styled by Myntra.

Irrfan Khan, late Sridevi win top Indian cinema awards

movie & TV June 26, 2018 01:00

By The Nation

8,441 Viewed

The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) brought Bollywood’s creme de la creme to Bangkok last Sunday for screenings at the Siam Niramit Theatre.

Talented duo Karan Johar and Riteish Deshmukh played hosts in their own inimitable ways, Karan with the classic witty zingers and Riteish with her charismatic character.

 As the finale of the event, the IIFA Awards saw India’s most loved actress Rekha (Banurekha Ganesan) put on a nostalgic performance and take the audience back in time. 

The night also featured performances from superstars including Ranbir Kapoor, Varun Dhawan, Shraddha Kapoor, Arjun Kapoor, Bobby Deol, Kriti Sanon and Lulia Vantur.

The IIFA paid tribute to two of the most celebrated actors of Indian cinema, the great Shashi Kapoor and the late diva Sridevi Kapoor. 

Venerated actor Anupam Kher was presented the prestigious IIFA Award for Outstanding Achievement in Indian Cinema, recognising his immense contribution. And e-commerce firm Myntra presented the Style Icon of the Year award to young Kriti Sanon.

For the fourth consecutive year, the IIFAs were broadcast exclusively on India’s Hindi entertainment channel Colors, with star-studded programming including flashbacks, IIFA Buzz, IIFA Rocks and the Nexa IIFA Awards. 

For digitally savvy viewers, it was available on video-on-demand platform VOOT from the house of Viacom18.


Best Picture: “Tumhari Sulu”

Best Story: Amit V Masurkar (“Newton”)

Best Direction: Saket Chaudhary (“Hindi Medium”)

Best Debut Director: Konkona Sen Sharma (“A Death in the Gunj”)

Best Actress: Sridevi Kapoor (“Mom”)

Best Actor: Irrfan Khan (“Hindi Medium”)

Best Music Direction: Amaal Mallik, Tanishk Bagchi and Akhil Sachdeva (“Badrinath Ki Dulhania”)

Best Playback Singer Female: Meghna Mishra (“Main Kaun Hoon” – “Secret Superstar”)

Best Playback Singer Male: Arijit Singh (“Hawayein” – “Jab Harry Met Sejal”)

Supporting Actress: Meher Vij (“Secret Superstar”)

Supporting Actor: Nawazuddin Siddiqui (“Mom”)

Best Lyrics: Manoj Muntashir (“Mere Rashke Qamar” – “Baadshaho”)