• File photo : Hikotaro Yazaki
  • File photo : Tasana Nagavajara and ML Usni Pramoj
  • File photo : ML Usni Pramoj

Maestro Yazaki returns to Bangkok

lifestyle March 09, 2019 11:38

By The Nation

8,052 Viewed

Hikotaro Yazaki, the well known Japanese conductor will conduct in Bangkok the Pro Musica Orchesra this month and the SSMS Orchestra next month.

Yazaki will conduct the Pro Musica Orchesra at the Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel on Thursday March 28 at 7.30pm and the SSMS Orchestra at the Mahisorn Hall at the Siam Commercial Bank Headquarters, Ratchayothin on Sunday April 7 at 5pm, according to a press release.

Maestro Yazaki is no stranger to classical music lovers in Thailand. He has conducted major symphony orchestras around the world and served as the music director of The Bangkok Symphony Orchestra for more than 10 years.

On March 28, Yazaki will lead the Pro Musica Orchestra with Tasana Nagavajara as violin soloist in a performance of ML Usni Pramoj's Violin Concerto and works by composers Carl Nielsen from Denmark and Edvard Grieg from Norway, whose compositions "Petite Suite Op. 1" and "Holberg Suite" are remarkably musical.

Both North European composers chose to use their native accents and rhythms to blend with  mainstream classical music, which makes their works a colorful, unique sound in musical history.

ML Usni Pramoj's  Violin Concerto, composed in 2006, was dedicated to Tasana Nagavajara. The Concerto was constructed in a contemporary Western classical music style but with personal oriental flavor by the composer, a process which displays a variety of emotions from the slow, sad sections to the faster-paced ones, containing syncopated jazz rhythms.

This Concerto has not been performed in public before. It is an opportunity not to be missed as this will be a world premiere event, according to the press statement.

On April 7, Maestro Yazaki will conduct SSMS Orchestra in a grand concert “The Hero” at Mahisorn Hall Siam Commercial Bank, Ratchayothin at 5pm. This concert will feature Beethoven's Symphony No.3 (Eroica), the  Petite Symphonie for Winds by Charles Gounod and the Marimba Concerto by Emmanuel Sejourne.

The SSMS Orchestra is composed of young musicians who attend the annual residential Silpakorn Summer Music School. Every year, the SSMS aims to bring top music students together during their summer break. Young talent of different ages and from different backgrounds come to rehearse and work together and then make music under the tuition of distinguished faculty members for one week before performing the final concerts in Pattaya and Bangkok.

The Eroica Symphony (Heroic Symphony) is one of the Beethoven’s most celebrated works and is a large-scale composition that marked the beginning of Beethoven's creative middle-period. Composed mainly in 1803–1804, the work is grounded in the classical symphonic tradition while also stretching boundaries of form, length, harmony, and perceived emotional and possibly cultural content. It has therefore widely been considered an important landmark in the transition between the Classical period and the Romantic era.

For more information and tickets reservation visit www.promusicabkk.com