Emergency decree enforcement in South extended a further three months

Breaking News June 14, 2018 09:39

By The Nation

2,244 Viewed

The government has extended the state of emergency in the three southernmost provinces for a further three months.

The extension was announced in the Royal Gazette on Wednesday.

The emergency decree covers Narathiwat except Sungai Kolok district, Yala except Betong district and Pattani except Mae Lan district.

The announcement of the emergency decree in Royal Gazette states that the extension is to allow the authorities to operate with more efficiency and arrest suspected insurgents faster.

It said the extension of the enforcement was needed because insurgency attacks in the provinces are continuing.

The government evaluates the situation every quarter before deciding whether to extend the emergency decree.

Most view