The Nation



Prayuth to chair new energy council

ACM Prajin Juntong

ACM Prajin Juntong

Gen Prayuth Chan-ocha, the National Council for Peace and Order's chief, will chair the new National Energy Policy Council.

Air Chief Marshal Prajin Juntong, the NCPO’s deputy chief for economic affairs, will be the deputy chairman.

In the order unveiled today, the council will consist of members including the permanent secretaries of the Energy, Transport, Natural Resources and Environment, Commerce and Industry ministries. Others include the secretary-general of the Office of National Economic and Social Development Board, Fiscal Policy Office’s director-general, and representatives from the Energy Policy and Planning Office.

The council, tasked to review all energy policies including subsidies and pricing, is normally chaired by the prime minister.

Comments conditions

Users are solely responsible for their comments.We reserve the right to remove any comment and revoke posting rights for any reason withou prior notice.