The Nation



35 provinces declared cold-spell disaster zones

Thirty five provinces are announced the cold-spell disaster zones, according to the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation.

The zones cover 6.14 million residents in 416 districts.

Twelve provinces are in the North, 20 in the Northeast, and 3 in the Central region.

The department has distributed 292,415 pieces of blankets and sweaters. The private sector’s donation is welcomed. The department is also planning for more assistance, given the longer-than-expected period of low temperature.

Comments conditions

Users are solely responsible for their comments.We reserve the right to remove any comment and revoke posting rights for any reason withou prior notice.